Connect with us

Local News

Ramaphosa’s cabinet, Who is out and Who is in?



The long awaited cabinet reshuffle is here with many of Ramaphosa’s loyalist making the list of new ministers and deputy ministers. The disgraced former minister of health sent a last minute resignation letter to Ramaphosa to avoid being fired following the “Digital Vibes “scandal.


“I am grateful to Minister Mkhize for his service, and particularly for the outstanding leadership he has provided in the face of the worst pandemic in over a century,” Ramaphosa stated.

“I have also accepted a long-standing request by Minister Tito Mboweni to be excused from his position as Minister of Finance.”

Ramaphosa also announced that he would once again be separating the Ministry of Human Settlements from the Ministry of Water and Sanitation.

“At the beginning of this administration, we had brought these two portfolios together on the understanding that the provision of water is closely tied to the development of human settlements,” the president stated.

“However, the reality is that water is a far broader issue, impacting not only on human settlements, but also on agriculture, industry, mining and environmental management. Water is our country’s most critical natural resource.”

Ramaphosa also announced that he is doing away with the Ministry of State Security.

Political responsibility for the State Security Agency would instead be placed in the Presidency, with Zizi Kodwa remaining on as a Deputy Minister in the Presidency responsible for state security.

“This is to ensure that the country’s domestic and foreign intelligence services more effectively enable the President to exercise his responsibility to safeguard the security and integrity of the nation,” Ramaphosa stated.

The table below gives an overview of President Cyril Ramaphosa’s new cabinet. The changes are indicated in red.

National Executive
President Cyril Ramaphosa
Deputy President David Mabuza
Position Minister
Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development Thoko Didiza
Basic Education Angie Motshekga
Communications and Digital Technologies Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma
Defence and Military Veterans Thandi Modise
Employment and Labour Thulas Nxesi
Environment, Forestry and Fisheries Barbara Creecy
Finance Enoch Godongwana
Health Joe Phaahla
Higher Education, Science and Technology Blade Nzimande
Home Affairs Aaron Motsoaledi
Human Settlements Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane
International Relations and Cooperation Naledi Pandor
Justice and Correctional Services Ronald Lamola
Mineral Resources and Energy Gwede Mantashe
Police Bheki Cele
Public Enterprises Pravin Gordhan
Public Service and Administration Ayanda Dlodlo
Public Works and Infrastructure Patricia de Lille
Small Business Development Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Social Development Lindiwe Zulu
Sports, Arts and Culture Nathi Mthethwa
State Security Ayanda Dlodlo
Tourism Lindiwe Sisulu
Trade and Industry Ebrahim Patel
Transport Fikile Mbalula
Water and Sanitation Senzo Mchunu
The Presidency (Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation) Mondli Gungubele
The Presidency (Women, Youth & Persons with Disabilities) Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Position Deputy Minister
Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development Zoleka Capa
Basic Education Reginah Mhaule
Communications and Digital Technologies Philly Mapulane
Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Thembi Nkadimeng
Correctional Services Patekile Holomisa
Defence and Military Veterans Thabang Makwetla
Employment and Labour Boitumelo Moloi
Environment, Forestry and Fisheries Maggie Sotyu
Finance David Masondo
Health Sibongiseni Dhlomo
Higher Education, Science and Technology Buti Manamela
Home Affairs Njabulo Nzuza
Human Settlements Pam Tshwete
International Relations and Cooperation Candith Mashego-Dlamini
International Relations and Cooperation Alvin Botes
Justice and Constitutional Development John Jeffery
Mineral Resources and Energy Nobuhle Nkabane
Police Cassel Mathale
Public Enterprises Phumulo Masualle
Public Service and Administration Chana Pilane-Majake
Public Works and Infrastructure Noxolo Kiviet
Small Business Development Sdumo Dlamini
Social Development Hendrietta Ipeleng Bogopane-Zulu
Sports, Arts and Culture Nocawe Mafu
State Security (in the Presidency) Zizi Kodwa
Tourism Fish Mahlalela
Trade and Industry Fikile Majola
Trade and Industry Nomalungelo Gina
Transport Sindisiwe Chikunga
Water and Sanitation Dikeledi Magadzi
The Presidency Thembi Siweya, Pinky Kekana
Presidency (Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities) Hlengiwe Mkhize


Continue Reading


Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email and stay on top of things,